Film Review: The A-Team

When I was little, all four of us kids used to pile round to my auntie’s house on a Saturday and spend hours getting the most of her huge TV which had Sky. Many of these hours were spent with our eyes glued to the screen watching The A-Team.

So when I heard that they were making an A-Team film, I was ecstatic. I mean, really, what could be cooler?

However, I did expect the film to disappoint. I didn’t think that they could catch the silliness and blazé attitude of the TV series and the serious side (ok so the serious scenes were few and far between but they were important!). But oh how blissfully wrong I was – the film captured just about everything I remember from my childhood watchings of the series.

I’m not going to lie to you, if you like your action films to be realistic then this is probably not for you. The film is frequently ridiculous just because they can be. There is scarcely an action sequence without some stunt defying all the laws of physics and logic but I really didn’t care because it was so. much. darn. fun.

As for the actors, I probably wouldn’t have chosen Liam Neeson for the role of Hannibal. To me, Hannibal was this old cowboy with a southern accent and an AK-47. Neeson, while still fantastic, was very unmistakably not American and he had a little handgun or an M-16. Yes, he was good as Hannibal and it worked in the film. It’s just he wasn’t George Peppard (probably a good thing given that Peppard was a raving abusive alcoholic).

Trying to cast an actor for the role which Mr. T never seems to have relinquished must have been a tough job and I don’t think that anybody could have expected anybody to fill Mr. T’s shoes as well as Quinton ‘Rampage’ Jackson did.

Sharlto Copley did a brilliant turn as Murdock, the "functioning lunatic" of the group. This being his first film after District 9, I’d say that we have a fantastic budding star on our hands and I’ll be watching his career with great interest. He brought just the right amount of crazy to the role, not making him too much of a nut-case to steal the show from anybody else but giving him the perfect dose of insanity.

But by far the best of the team has to be my all time favourite: Face. I was scared that Bradley Cooper wouldn’t be able to pull it off but oh how wrong I was. Cooper excelled at Face, the womanising, happy-go-lucky, shoot you in the head with a smile, master of disguise who never fails to make me giggle like a little girl at the amount of fun he has blowing stuff up.

If you have a spare moment and want cheering up with excessive explosions, catchy theme tunes, actors having incredible amounts of fun and 20 year old catch phrases then The A-Team is definitely for you. If none of the above applies to you then I’d suggest going to see Toy Story 3.

Leave a Reply

