Top 5 Films I’ve Missed

Living out here in France has been great for so many reasons but there are downsides. One of these downsides has to be the fact that I’ve missed seeing a load of films at the cinema. Not that I’ve gone totally cold turkey on films or anything, no not at all, in fact quite the opposite you might say. However, getting to see new releases has been a constant battle for us assistants. Sure I’ve been to the cinema our here but only when I can find a film in V.O – the original English audio with French subtitles. I still don’t trust myself to sit through an English language film dubbed into French, partly because I’m scared I might miss some vital sentence when they use the imperfect subjunctive so that I have to spend the next five minutes figuring out what they said, and partly because watching English speaking actors with different French speaking voices is really odd. (Bruce Willis sounds like Barry White – true story)

I’ve managed to get to see some new releases, An Education, Invictus, The Imaginarium Of Dr Parnassus, and a few more I’ve managed to stream online such as Shutter Island.

There’s still a huge catalogue of films which I wanted to see desperately but I’ve missed. Here are the top five films I really wanted to see in the cinema but now have to wait for.

I Love You Phillip Morris
A film where Jim Carry and Ewan McGreggor play impossibly gay men and scam the insurance system to make millions of dollars? Why yes please! The trailer for this looked so funny and Empire gave it four stars, saying that it was one of the funniest films of the year. It looks just like my type of film – hilarious comedy and fantastic acting. What’s not to like?

Precious
This looked so incredible, I was gutted when I realised that I wasn’t going to get to see it for another 6 months or so. Nominated for (and winning) numerous awards including some Oscars, Golden Globes and  SAG awards, there was every reason why I’d love this film. Pity I won’t get to see it until I can get my hands on the DVD which will probably take until September.

A Single Man
Colin Firth is a formidable man. Not just because he’s frikin’ huge (I only came up to his shoulder when I bumped into him in a subway in London – yeah, you heard) but also because he’s an absolutely stellar actor who is incredibly underused in my opinion. So when I saw that he got to star with Julianne Moore, who was nominated for Best Supporting Actress at the Oscars for her role in A Single Man, I immediately checked out film times  – and lo and behold there was a showing of it when I was back in the UK in February! Joy of joys! Then I went on a bit of a bender on the Sunday night and suddenly an early showing of a drama on Monday morning seemed like torture so I skipped it. Still haven’t fully forgiven myself for that.

Alice In Wonderland
No matter what your opinion of this film, I’ve been impatiently awaiting its release ever since I heard the rumours of its existence back in my first year of uni. Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass are two books I utterly adore. I love their quirkiness and, let’s be honest here, they could have been written by Tim Burton for all the weirdness that abounds. Johnny Depp as the Mad hatter? Stephen Fry as the Cheshire Cat? Anne Hathaway and Helena Bonham Carter as the queens? Alan Rickman as the caterpillar? Sheer genius I tell you! Then the release date gets pushed back to March the 5th, only one week after I leave England. Curses!

Kick Ass
This film looked like nothing we’ve ever seen before. What’s not to like with tons of violence, an 11 year old girl whose language would make a sailor blush, amazing action sequences and side splitting hilarity? Words cannot describe the pain that missing this film has caused me. It came out about a month ago now so there might be a showing of it when I get back next week (!) but I’m not very optimistic about that if I’m honest.

Those are the top five films I’ve missed but I also really wanted to see all of these other films as well and it pains me that I’m going to have to wait to catch most of them on DVD: Green Zone, Fantasic Mr Fox, A Serious Man, The Book of Eli, The Road, Exam, and Youth In Revolt.

P.S.V.
What would life have been like in medieval times if there was a gay knight? (p.s. there’s a 20 second ad at the beginning, just ignore it)

One thought on “Top 5 Films I’ve Missed

Leave a Reply

