What’s Occurrin’?

It’s been a while since I gave you lot an overview of what’s happening with me in France and so I thought that I’d rectify this in a blog.

All good things come to an end and my stay in France is drawing to a close. To be honest, it couldn’t come any faster. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a brilliant time out here but this last month has been a real chore and I’m ready to go home. That said, over the past week or so I’ve had some of the best days out in Metz yet. The premise is simple, we all trek into the city, pick a café and start eating and drinking and talking until we have to run to catch the last train or bus home.

Over the past week there have been no fewer than three of these brilliant excursions, one on Saturday with Christian and Laura, one on Monday with Jo, Gun, Sarah, Becky and Ann-Kirk (where we had that run in with the scary guy) and one on Wednesday with Laura, Becky, Daisy, Lisa, Jo and Ann-Kirk. The weather has been progressively better for each of them, so much so that yesterday I was able to sit out in the open square and soak up the rays. I can’t remember the last time I was this white, it’s a little disturbing. Mind you, the sky has today returned to its habitual shade of grey and I’m none too happy about that.

Some assistants have managed to work things so that they’re leaving at the end of this week and I’m insanely jealous of them. I have just over a week left of teaching but almost four weeks left of my stay. At first I enjoyed the teaching but now I’m just a little fed up with it all. I can’t stand stroppy French teenagers who think they’re just too cool for school when in reality they’d be the most awkward kids in an English high school.

On a happier note: – the most excellent Kay and Katie will be gracing me with their shining presences and I expect much fun will be had. They arrive in Paris on Saturday and are making their way over to mine on Sunday to stay until Tuesday. I honestly can’t wait!

After that, there’s not much excitement on the horizon until I eventually travel home.

THE FOURTH OF MAY PEOPLE! That’s when I’m returning to the UK and in the UK I plan to stay for as long as possible. Travelling home with me is Laura, one of my American friends from out here who wanted to see some more of the UK. We’ll be touring around Liverpool until the 10th of May when we’re going to jump in a car and see a little bit of Wales and then on the 11th we travel up north to Becky’s place in Berwick upon Tweed, stopping off to take in a bit of the Lakes. After enjoying Becky’s hospitality, we’re then driving that little bit further to Edinburgh to have a little dose of Scottish goodness.

I sincerely can’t wait to get back to Liverpool, not only because of all of you lovely lovely people who reside there but also it’ll be so fun to be back in my home city and be showing a visitor around al my favourite places. I honestly can’t say who’s the more excited of us two. I also get to drive! Run and hide pedestrians! I’m back and I’m back with a vengeance.

P.S.V.

2 thoughts on “What’s Occurrin’?

  1. Yay!Im so glad to hear of your exciting may times ahead…this city, b-e-a-utiful scenery, tourist activities and road trips, well what more could you want for?!
    Am a wee bit jealous of you guys going to Edinburgh tbh…iv always fancied exploring parts of Scotland.Its now my mission to achieve before i leave scouseland :)
    Till soon (eek!) x

Leave a Reply

