I love France, I love France not, I love France…

Some of you may have noticed an apparent contradiction in these blog postings. One moment I’m pining for Blighty, its patchwork countryside and drystone walls and the next moment I’m scoffing cheese, singing the Marseillaise and saluting Sarkozy.

Is this just something which changes with my mood? Is it just me going through phases of homesickness and then enjoyment? Partially, I won’t deny that. Yet at the same time, it’s something more.

Part of me franticly misses England, Clare, my friends, family, real ales, the Mersey and an H&M with a mens’ department*; and at the exact same time, I am very content just where I am. I love my job and my free time. I love the people I’ve met. I love the food I eat and the huge pay cheque I get at the end of every month.

How can these two very conflicting emotions sit so very comfortably together? If I were to caricature this, it would be to put both Kanye West and Taylor Swift in the same room and for Taylor Swift not to be making "Imma let you finish…" jokes every time Kanye tried to speak. (If you’re puzzled by this reference, I refer you to the stuff at the end)

Surely I’m just feeling confused? But no. I’m totally at ease with it. I have realised that I can have two conflicting thoughts in my head at the same time and agree with both. In fact, it’s a misnomer to call them conflicting – they may seem antithetical to each other but they do seem to be able to stand side by side in my mind.

I love England and would gladly return there tomorrow. I love being here and am content to live here until the very last moment possible. How very odd.

 

*I recently discovered the strange thing that is the lack of a mens’ clothing department in the H&M store in Metz. I must have looked like a right transvestite scouting around just about every section looking for male attire.

 

Kanye West VS Taylor Swift

First, Kanye did this:

http://www.mtv.com/videos/news/436578/kanye-west-crashes-the-stage.jhtml

and then people got angry and started making these:

1252981909077 1252991946121 immaletyoufinish_moses immaletyoufinish-kayne-west  kanye-martin-luther-king-jr-imma-let-you-finishkanye-west-fresh-prince-of-bel-air-greatest-of-all-time Kanye-West-Imma-Let-You-Finish-500x331 kany-west-sega-genesis-imma-let-you-finish-of-all-time lulz noid-8719_1155716619219_1416810166_30461224_6887420_n noid-1252996444799 noid-Hide_and_Seek Kanye West takes the microphone from Taylor Swift and speaks onstage during the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards at Radio City Music Hall on September 13, 2009 in New York City.
2009 MTV Video Music Awards - Show
Radio City Music Hall
New York, NY United States
September 13, 2009
Photo by Kevin Mazur/WireImage.com

To license this image (16951148), contact WireImage.com GLEE: The members of McKinley High's Glee Club learn a new song and dance to perform in front of the school in "Showmance," the series premiere episode of GLEE airing Wednesday, Sept. 9 (9:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) on FOX. Pictured L-R: Amber Riley, Chris Colfer, Kevin McHale, Jenna Ushkowitz, Lea Michele and Cory Monteith. ©2009 Fox Broadcasting Co. Cr: Carin Baer/FOX word-up-to-the-peace-of-westphalia-while-we-at-it-569-1253034386-11

 

P.S.V

This is true editing mastery.

One thought on “I love France, I love France not, I love France…

  1. Heehee, I’m sitting in the Sydney Jones writing Blackwood an essay on Diglossia (and if that doesn’t make you pine for home I don’t know what will) and had to do a great level of stifling in order to not disturb the studious little beavers around me with innappropriate levels of kaylaughter.

    Also had to type ‘misnomer’ into the OEDonline, which is a bit silly because when you look at it, it’s a pretty darn French word.

    I think I understand above-mentioned sentiments though, and I can’t decide whether you should get a vanishing cabinet, or some other geeky form of transport. But sometimes it’s good to be in one place, y’know.

    Would love to stay both I have Lodge and Fasold and Gadet waiting for me. Happy jeudi!

Leave a Reply

